Rondout Lighthouse

Rondout Lighthouse is a historical, functional lighthouse on the Hudson River in Kingston, New York. Guided tours of its interior are offered seasonally by the Hudson River Maritime Museum.

Rondout Lighthouse


The Rondout Lighthouse was built in 1837 by James McEntee to mark the entrance of Rondout Creek to the Hudson River during a time of increasing traffic on the waterway due to the opening of the Delaware & Hudson Canal, which brought anthracite coal from Pennsylvania to the Hudson Valley and New York City. Initially, the lighthouse was a wooden, two-story structure, but it was replaced in 1867 with a more durable three-story bluestone building on the south side of the creek. However, the light became insufficient after the creek was dredged and jetties were built, leading to the construction of a new brick lighthouse in 1913-15. The lighthouse had electricity run to it in 1948, and the facility was automated in 1954.

Over time, the old circa 1867 lighthouse fell into disrepair, and its roof caved in by 1954. It was dynamited shortly after. By the 1980s, the circa 1915 lighthouse was, too, in disrepair, and as part of a divestiture program, the Coast Guard sold the site to the city of Kingston. Working with the Hudson River Maritime Museum, the city and museum began a program to replace the lighthouse’s roof, restore the exterior, furnish the interior, and offer tours.


Official Website

(845) 338-0071

To view the lighthouse from a distance, from downtown Kingston, follow East Strand Street east along the north bank of Ronbdout Creek for .7 miles. Turn right onto North Street and park by the water. An informal trail leads to the jetty. Lighthouse tours are offered by the Hudson River Maritime Museum at 50 Rondout Landing.


Kingston Weather

American Byways is an exploration-focused website that helps you discover hidden gems, find unique waypoints, and trek to spectacular natural wonders.

Leave a Comment